Gluten Free Communion Bread

gluten free communion bread

Ugh. Just when I thought I had it all figured out…I went to church.

I waited in line for communion – accepted the body of christ- said amen, and then OhMyGod I almost put bread in my mouth. Had to awkwardly pretend eat it in front of the priest and then made my sister eat it for me at the pew… clearly I am a bad catholic and I don’t go to church very often so this predicament didn’t occur to me in advance – but, for those of you who attend church regularly, call ahead!

Most parishes will provide a gluten free alternative for you, and they might already have one. You can purchase communion wafers online here.

glutenfree_communionwafers

The wafers are about 10X more expensive than normal wafers, so your church might want to try baking their own. Here’s a recipe courtesy of communionbread.org

Ingredients:

(7 loaves)

– 2 cups hot water
– 2 Tbsp olive oil
– 2 Tbsp honey
– 1 Tbsp molasses
– 1 Tbsp salt
– 5-6 cups of Jules Gluten Free Flour

Directions:

– Mix all of the ingredients minus the flour in a mixer (I use a Bosch mixer with dough hook).
– Slowly add flour until the dough wipes clean off of the sides of the bowl. Mix for 5 – 7 minutes.
– Divide recipe into six to seven equal balls.
– One at a time, take the dough ball and pat into a 1/4 inch thick circle. Take a fork and pierce the dough with stripes and a cross. (Don’t skip the piercing step or the bread will ruin.)
– Bake at 400 degrees for 14 – 20 minutes. Cool on a rack.
– Wrap well and freeze until needed.

Bread will be slightly chewy. If you desire crispy communion bread, roll out very thin and bake longer. The benefit of chewy bread is that it doesn’t crumble and make a mess as people break off their piece.

Some congregations desire bread to be pre-cut. I use Pampered Chef’s crinkle cutter/ julienne cutter – to cut the pieces. It makes a nice, wavy cut.

One response

Leave a Reply

