Does hard alcohol contain gluten?

Most alcohol starts as a “neutral grain spirit”.  This is created by mixing together various grains (i.e. barley, rye, corn, wheat) adding water, and heating the mixture to very specific temperatures.

It is said that the distilling process removes glutenous proteins, but I have found that many people with gluten intolerance/celiac still react strongly to hard liquors. Personally, I think its safe to stick with alcohol made from a unique base – such as potatoes, berries, agave, etc. This includes alcohols such as Chopin (potato vodka), Ciroc (grape), and any Tequila (Agave).

Always consult your gastroenterologist or dietitian when making these choices!

Advertisements

One response

  1. Pingback: Drinking Gluten Free | Gluten Free Living in Greater Boston

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s